Book Review Wednesday: The ABC Murders (Agatha Christie) 4 stars

Posted: February 10, 2016 in Uncategorized

I’ve embarked on an Agatha Christie fest (‘And then there were none’ is one my favs) and I’m amazed to find how little her stuff ages. Sure there are a few things glaringly different to modern times, but most of the time I don’t notice.

Here’s the blurb:

There’s a serial killer on the loose, bent on working his way through the alphabet. And as a macabre calling card he leaves beside each victim’s corpe the ABC Railway Guide open at the name of the town where the murder has taken place. Having begun with Andover, Bexhill and then Churston, there seems little chance of the murderer being caught – until he makes the crucial and vain mistake of challenging Hercule Poirot to frustrate his plans.

Agatha Christie is the master of who dunnits that keep you guessing until the end. I managed to guess correctly part way through, and was very proud of myself since with most of her books I still have a handful of suspects at the end (and occasionally none of them are right).

This one was a little slower than other books of hers. It’s not one of my favourites, but not one of my least favourites either. A good read when you fancy a mystery. There are the usual number of twists and turns, but as I say, it’s at a slower pace than usual.

I recommend it if you’re a fan of hers. If you haven’t ventured into the world of Agatha Christie yet, I’d say go read ‘And then there were none’ before this one. It’s a better book. And then if you love that one come back and read everything else she’s written including this one.

For more information on this book go here.

Leave a Reply

